Standing Up for Black Mothers & Babies 2022

To keep our community safe during this event, we are hosting a hybrid event with a limited number of in-person tickets. In-person attendees will be required to wear masks and are asked to follow additional public health agreements .

Keynote Speaker

Angelina Spicer, Comedian, Social Media Influencer, and Accidental Activist Angelina Spicer became an outspoken advocate for maternal mental health after her diagnosis and hospitalization of postpartum depression (PPD). In addition to her comedy, Angelina is also working with lawmakers in California and on Capitol Hill to implement laws to support early motherhood. She is also currently in production on “The Push For Permission,” a feature length documentary that uses comedy to empower women and birthing people to advocate for themselves and to normalize PPD.

This year’s awardees:

Alderman Gregory Carter Community Champion
LaKisha Redditt, B.S., CHW,

Dr. Corinne Walentik Provider/Practitioner Champion Award
Nicole D. Carr, MSN, FNP-BC

Dr. Terry Leet Researcher Award
Nancy L. Weaver, Ph.D., MPH

Judy Wilson-Griffin Maternal Health Equity Champion
Hon. Cora Faith Walker, J.D., MPH
This award will be presented posthumously

Thank you to our sponsors


Saint Louis University’s College for Public Health & Social Justice

Healthy Blue

St. Luke’s Hospital

The Uplift Connection


Carrollton Bank

Emerging Wisdom

First Bank

Home State Health

Jasmine D. Evans Public Relations

Generate Health
5501 Delmar Blvd, #B240
St. Louis, MO 63112
phone: (314) 880-5719
Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us